Webinars

We are pleased to offer five webinars intended to familiarize you with the concept of a Networked Improvement Community, and each of the four important components and elements of a successful NIC. An introductory 30-minute webinar will feature one or two experts from out team providing key background information about the focal challenges of building a NIC. A facilitated discussion forum will continue for two weeks after the video is posted to this site. At the end of the two weeks, another live webinar with the same expert will be featured. This follow-up webinar will focus on the topics that have arisen through the online forum, as well as questions that are asked live during the webinar.

Introducing Networked Improvement Communities

Timothy Podkul, SRI and Jennifer Russell, Carnegie

December 7, 2016 at 4pm ET / 1pm PT

Networked Improvement Communities (NICs) aim to address practical problems through the intentional formation of networks structured specifically for the purpose of practical improvement.

>> Learn More


Identifying and Refining High Leverage Problems

Louis Gomez, Carnegie

December 16, 2016 at 2pm ET / 11am PT

Perhaps the most important part of a network’s work is deciding what its work will be –– that is, understanding and refining its problem focus. This task is exceedingly hard.

>> Learn More


Improvement Analytics: Learning from Data to Drive Improvement

Andrew Krumm, SRI and Alicia Grunow, Carnegie

January 26, 2017 at 1pm ET / 10am PT

How can data be used to drive improvement? Answering this question can be complex, and as years of research on data-driven decision-making in education highlights, data don’t drive—people do.

>> Learn More


Designing a Formative Evaluation for a Complex System

Barbara Means, SRI and Jennifer Russell, Carnegie

February 28, 2017 at 10am PT / 1pm ET

This webinar will deal with the question of how to conceptualize and implement a NIC evaluation. Evaluating complex systems such as a Networked Improvement Community requires a multifaceted approach that captures the intricacies of structured social arrangements.

>> Learn More


Communicating Effectively in an Improvement Network

Jeremy Roschelle, SRI and Christopher Thorn, Carnegie

February 28th, 2017 at 3pm ET / 12pm PT

The beating heart of any collective improvement network is timely, useful, effective communication, as collective improvement networks rely on coordinated yet autonomous activity of multiple actors and institutions towards a common goal.

>> Learn More